Boys Varsity Football · Coach Cody Mallory Named Division 4 Coach of the Year!

After leading his team to the Division 4 State Finals last weekend at Ford Field, Varsity Head Coach Cody Mallory has been named the D4 Coach of the Year by the Michigan High School Football Coaches Association! The Vikings finished as State Runner-ups for the first time in school history and ended the season with an overall record of 8-3. This was Coach Mallory’s 6th season as Cadillac’s head coach.

Below is the announcement from the MHSFCA:

Ten coaches in Michigan have been honored by the Michigan High School Football Coaches  Association as 2020 coaches of the year across the state. 

Rob Zimmermann of DeWitt was selected as the Dream Team Coach of the Year and will be honored on  Saturday along with other members of the Dream Team by the MHSFCA and the Michigan Chapter of  the National Football Foundation. 

Zimmerman led DeWitt to the Division 3 state championship this past weekend at Ford Field, concluding  an undefeated season with a 40-30 win over River Rouge, giving Zimmerman his first state championship  in 22 years as the Panthers head coach. He was inducted into the MHSFCA Hall of Fame in 2016. 

The list of coaches of the year named by the MHSFCA are: 

  • Division 1, Ron Bellamy, West Bloomfield (state champion) 
  • Division 2, Matt Koziak, Mona Shores (state champion) 
  • Division 3, Rob Zimmerman, DeWitt (state champion) 
  • Division 4, Cody Mallory, Cadillac (state runner-up) 
  • Division 5, Phil Martin, Frankenmuth (state runner-up) 
  • Division 6, Pat Collins, Montague (state champion) 
  • Division 7, Clint Galvas, New Lothrop (state champion) 
  • Division 8, Jerry Schultz, Centreville (state champion) 
  • 8-Player, Division 1, Bill Wilharms, Lenawee Christian (state champion) 
  • 8-Player, Division 2, Leo Gorzinski, Powers North Central (state champion) 

The MHSFCA began its post-season awards in November with the announcement of its all-region teams  and all-region coaches of the year. The All-State team was announced in December with the Dream  Team being announced this month. 

The high school football season came to a close this past weekend with the state championship games in  all eight 11-player divisions. The 8-player state finals were held the weekend prior. 

The MHSFCA and its members have been devoted to the promotion of high school football since its  inception in March 1972. For more information about the organization, visit

Congratulations, Coach Mallory!